A Personalized Introduction

Howdy! Hello! Welcome. Thanks for stopping by and growing your brain! My name is Max Stanford and I am a rising senior at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. I am studying Elementary Education from Superior, Colorado (Just outside of Boulder, Colorado. A stones throw away from the Rocky Mountains.) In the spring of 2014, I will student teach in Chicago, Illinois as part of an Urban Education Program run by the Associated Colleges of the Midwest (ACM) of which Coe College is a member institution. My future plans include becoming an outstanding classroom teacher and eventually pursuing higher/terminal degrees in Educational Policy.

I am really excited to start blogging again! I have dabbled in blogging for a brief moment in time during my earlier years at Coe, but feel like I should start fresh as my mind has grown so much since June of 2012. Oh what a difference a year’s worth of Higher-Level Methods courses can bring!

As my time at Coe is coming to an end and student teaching approaches, I feel the need to begin to record, reflect and digitally archive my thoughts and mental processes. The field of Education requires an intensive amount of reflection. Excellent teachers are continuously reflecting and responding to their days lessons and encounters. I am constantly reflecting throughout my day, a skill I learned as a result of my time at Coe and in the local Cedar Rapids community schools, but  I want to establish the habit of recording my thoughts and reflections before my student teaching experience begins in the spring.

That is all I have for now. Check back soon for new posts! Feel free to leave comments below if you have the urge. I will leave you every time with a quote. Some brain food to chew upon for the next few days. As this is my first post, today’s quote is one of my all-time favorites:

Human resources are like natural resources; they’re often buried deep. You have to go looking for them, they’re not just lying around on the surface. You have to create the circumstances where they show themselves.”  – Sir Ken Robinson

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

