When kids speak out on student engagement, we should listen!

edutopia

Kids Speak Out on Student Engagement | Edutopia.

“What engages students?”

I’ve had this Edutopia article archived for some time. I have read it multiple times and every time I do, something new sticks with me. Student engagement is one of the ultimate goals every educator sets to accomplish year after year. For some, student engagement may be seen as a daunting and nearly impossible task, “I have too many different personalities to possibly engage everybody.” While I don’t believe there is a “one size fits all” solution, I do believe the 10 areas of focus in this article are a great place to start. Another reason I believe strongly in these 10 ideas is that they came from the experts: 220 students.

To me, this is a no brainer: why ignore what those who know best? While every piece of feedback, regards of the source (from peers, parents or students), should be dissected before acted upon, something has to be said for the fact that all 220 students’ comments fit into 10 areas. For those who view student engagement as an impossible task, focusing on 10 areas of your classroom may seem more manageable. It certainly does to me. Here is what the students had to say:

  1. More partner work/collaboration
  2. More technology integration
  3. More real-world connection(s)
  4. Show more PASSION/LOVE for teaching
  5. More meaningful movement
  6. Use more visuals (Pictures and videos)
  7. Let me have a choice
  8. Have confidence in my thinking/work ethic
  9. Mix things up
  10. Make mistakes yourself every now-and-again

 

Leave a Reply

