Welcome Associated Colleges of the Midwest Readers!

You can view my Urban Education profile as well as others on the ACM Website.
You can view my profile as well as other Urban Education students on the ACM Website.

http://www.acm.edu/off_campus_study/profiles/273

I did it. I am finally famous for the right reasons!

As my time on Coe College’s beautiful campus is coming to an end, a mere 7 days and counting, I am gearing up for my next adventure. As I mentioned in my very first post, I will fulfill my student teaching commitments in Chicago during the spring semester of 2014. I cannot express to you how excited I am for this unique opportunity!

All of my arrangements have been made through the Associated Colleges of the Midwest, or ACM for short. The ACM is a consortium of elite liberal arts colleges in America’s heartland. As a student at an ACM member institution, I have access to the program’s unique off-campus study programs. While the ACM has programs in every corner of the globe, India, Japan, Brazil, Botswana, Italy, Jordan to name a few, I chose to apply for the Urban Education program.

The Urban Education program is one of three programs the ACM runs in Chicago, Illinois. The goal of the Urban Education program is to provide the opportunity to foster and develop their teaching identities in one of the United States’ largest and diverse public school districts: Chicago Public Schools.

As I describe in my ACM profile, I chose to apply for the Urban Education program because I hope to spend my life teaching in Chicago. By completing my student teaching in Chicago Public Schools (CPS), I will be directly preparing myself for my life outside of graduation in May 2014. However, the Urban Education program will benefit me outside of the classroom as well. Chicagoland is one of the nation’s largest metropolitan centers with some of the world’s finest art institutes, museums, and historical centers. I pursued the Urban Education program for a chance to grow as an individual both in and out of the classroom.

Over the course of the next few months, I will be conveying my teaching experiences through my blog. Please come back and read about my everyday life if you are interested in completing your student teaching through the ACM or if you are interested in what life is like as a student teacher in an urban district. Additionally, if you should have any questions or comments, please do not hesitate to post comments below or contact me.

Thank you so much. Happy holidays and I hope you come back to visit my blog again soon!

Leave a Reply

