Chicago’s Ukrainian Village

As I touched on in my previous post, I love exploring my surroundings on foot. I took full advantage of the weather and found myself wandering all over the city. Just a few miles west from the Gold Coast lies one of Chicago’s most popular neighborhoods: Ukrainian Village. I didn’t have to walk far to understand why so many Chicagoans and tourists alike flock to this area. The churches are absolutely beautiful. Thankfully, for my leg’s sake, I arrived at an ideal time of day: sunset. The lighting made the churches all the more stunning. Below are some of my personal favorites.

IMG_9041
Looking up towards the Saint Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Cathedral
IMG_9042
Saint Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Cathedral
IMG_9044
Saints Volodymyr and Olha Ukrainian Catholic Church. Note the Ukrainian Flag at half-mast.
IMG_9046
A close-up of the stunning artwork that welcomes those who enter the Saints Volodymyr and Olha Ukrainian Catholic Church.
Although I was lost in the neighborhood, there was no mistaking which neighborhood I was in.
Although I was lost in the neighborhood, there was no mistaking which neighborhood I was in.
IMG_9047
One of the Ukrainian Village’s most famous landmarks: the Holy Trinity Orthodox Cathedral.
Leave a Reply

