All this talk of Finland reminded me…

One of my most recent posts centered on Pasi Sahlberg’s presentation on equitable education for all. After crafting this post, I was reminded of an important fact which I failed to note in my original post: I’ve been to Finland! During my high school years, I visited the country with my family and grandparents. This is, in my opinion, an extremely important detail. I can connect one a deeper level with all of his comments because I have spent time exploring his beautiful homeland. I dug through my photo archives and uncovered the following pictures.

Helsinki Cathedral.
Helsinki Cathedral.
Helsinki's main train station. Downtown, Helsinki.
Helsinki’s main train station. Downtown, Helsinki.
Helsinki's Uspenski Orthodox Church.
Helsinki’s Uspenski Orthodox Church.
Walking along Helsinki's inner harbor.
Walking along Helsinki’s inner harbor.
I spotted some wild game outside Helsinki's nature museum.
I spotted some wild game outside Helsinki’s nature museum.
Inside one of Helsinki's main attractions: Temppeliaukio or "Rock Church."
Inside one of Helsinki’s main attractions: Temppeliaukio or “Rock Church.”
Another view of Helsinki's Uspenski Orthodox Church from the deck of a cruise ship on our way to Stockholm, Sweden.
Another view of Helsinki’s Uspenski Orthodox Church from the deck of a cruise ship on our way to Stockholm, Sweden.
Another view of Helsinki's Cathedral and inner harbor.
Another view of Helsinki’s Cathedral and inner harbor.
One of Tallinn's many churches.
One of Tallinn’s many churches.
We hopped on a ferry to cross the Gulf of Finland to Tallinn, the capital of Estonia.
We hopped on a ferry to cross the Gulf of Finland to Tallinn, the capital of Estonia.
Stockholm City Hall. Home to the Nobel Peace Prize banquet. Note the symbolic three crowns atop the tower.
Stockholm City Hall. Home to the Nobel Peace Prize banquet. Note the symbolic three crowns atop the tower.
A view back across downtown Stockholm, Sweden.
A view back across downtown Stockholm, Sweden.
Stockholm, Sweden.
Stockholm, Sweden.
Stockholm's Olympic Stadium.
Stockholm’s Olympic Stadium.
The Royal Crest. Stockholm, Sweden.
The Royal Crest. Stockholm, Sweden.
Up north in Mikkeli, Finland.
Up north in Mikkeli, Finland.
A WWII outpost in Mikkeli, Finland.
A WWII outpost in Mikkeli, Finland.
Rowboats waiting for the summer's thaw. Mikkeli, Finland.
Rowboats waiting for the summer’s thaw. Mikkeli, Finland.
Leave a Reply

