10 Days in Maine

It’s a family tradition. Every year, around the Fourth of July, we head to Maine to visit my grandparents. I look forward to this trip every year. However, this year’s trip held a special place in my heart. I will have to wait two years to set foot in the great state of Maine again as I will be in Malaysia next July. Until then, I’ll have these photographs to remind me of the journey.

IMG_0279
High above Iowa, the former homeland.
IMG_0284
A river flows south to meet Lake Erie.
IMG_0288
Sediments from an unknown river mix with those of Lake Erie.
IMG_0296
Our approach into Boston made for an excellent opportunity to photograph the city.
IMG_9709
As they say on the East Coast: “Fresh Lobstah.”
As an educator, I have a special adoration for Boston and its rich history.
As an educator, I have a special adoration for Boston and its rich history. This city seal still adorns the famed Boston Commons (circa 1630).
Another Boston must: Mike's Pastry for a cannoli.
Another Boston must: Mike’s Pastry for a cannoli.
It was only fitting that we ate at Boston's top Malaysian restaurant.
It was only fitting that we ate at Boston’s top Malaysian restaurant.
IMG_9862
My grandparent’s homestead in Newfield, Maine.
IMG_9871
The view of the lake from the dock.
IMG_9834
Freshly caught and served “Lobstah.”
IMG_9830
In Maine, it is all about the lobstah.
IMG_9829
An atlantic fog rolls into port in Freeport, Maine.

 

In addition to outstanding seafood, Freeport is also known as the headquarters for L.L. Bean. Check out their Boston Red Sox Bean Bootmobile.
In addition to outstanding seafood, Freeport is also known as the headquarters for L.L. Bean. Check out their Boston Red Sox Bean Bootmobile.
IMG_9758
Checking out the Atlantic Ocean along Maine’s beautiful coastline.
IMG_9895
One last look across the lake before heading back to Colorado. I’ll have to wait two years before I’ll be back on this dock.
Leave a Reply

