First Semester Gallery Walk: Teaching at SMK Badak

IMG_2658
One of the many murals that adorn the walls of SMK Badak. This one greets me every morning when I park my car.
IMG_2676
Our daily morning assemblies literally coincide with the sunrise.
Untitled
Delivering an impassioned speech during our first English day.
IMG_3131
Morning ritual: breakfast in the canteen with my friends!
IMG_2747
From the very beginning, the teachers and students of SMK Badak have welcomed me into their school community. This photograph was from my third day on campus.
DSCN3732
Getting the students involved during my 1UO class.
DSCN3558
Partner work in 2UO.
DSCN3794
A student from my 2UO class writing a postcard to their friend. I even made the cut! (Refer to handsome stick figure in the lower right hand corner)
IMG_3178
Encouraging my students to speak English by playing charades. I love tricking my students into thinking they are not learning. That is when the most learning occurs!
IMG_3276
Public speaking practice in 2UO. Students delivered their “I Wonder…” statements modeled after a poem we read as a class. #IWonderWhyMrMaxForcesMeToSpeakEnglish?
DSCN3640
Teaching action verbs in 2UO with a little game of “Mr. Max Says…” (Pictured: Mr. Max Says…ride your motorcycle.)
Photo
A game of English Telephone always guarantees a few burst of laughter.
IMG_3148
I had to take a whole-class picture after meeting my 4UO students for the first time. Things got a little weird during our “Freestyle” session.
DSCN3758
My ‪Form 4‬ students absolutely crushed the ‪”Conversation Cards.” I introduced the game, sat back, and watched them steal the show. (However, they do still need some work when it comes to throwing and catching a frisbee, but I can work with that!)
DSCN3809
I asked my students to brainstorm problems they felt passionate about solving and then had them create their own superhero to solve the issue. One of my 4UO students working on his superhero to combat terrorism in Malaysia.
DSCN3594
My 4UA students working on generating smaller words from the base word “Computerized.” Small group work to bolster spelling and vocabulary!
IMG_3130
Working in pairs, my 4UA students scoured English newspapers for comparative adjectives and superlatives. They really enjoyed the activity and I was able to catch up on current events in Malaysia. Double win!
DSCN3609
Making things awkward during my 4UA class photo.
IMG_3628
In Malaysia, we always have time for selfies.
IMG_3626
Shout out to my assigned student photographers for capturing this moment during my daily “Conversation Corner.” I trapped these unsuspecting Form 2 students in a courtyard and would let them leave until they spoke to me in English. Sometimes you need to use force to get results. Eventually, they caved and answered my questions, in English.
IMG_3683
My bulletin board was racking up the “likes” during afternoon prayer.
DSCN3804
During my first after school speaking workshop I had my 4UO students take my housemate Matt on a tour of our school. Again, tricking students into thinking they aren’t learning leads to more authentic forms of learning!
DSCN3813
Even though I am not allowed to teach any Form 5 classes this year, I still managed to sneak into 5UO and snap some pictures. We also sang the Moose Song 3 consecutive times.
DSCN3800
Life at SMK Badak summed up into one picture: peace, love, and undeniable happiness.

 

Leave a Reply

